The Running Plan

I am still motivated to start running.  I know it’s only been a couple days since I decided, but keeping my interest intact is half the battle.  In fact, every time I sit down and the waistband of these jeans that are too tight dig into my tummy, I am motivated all over again to lose weight.  I have spent the last couple days researching how to do this.  The good news is that my husband has begrudgingly told me that if I can manage to wake up early and run, he’ll join me, which is great because he has also put on weight. Together I think we can keep ourselves accountable and motivated.

In the past, I used the Couch-to-5K  I remember using it for a maximum of 3 weeks and then just being able to run for 30 minutes straight (ah, the hubris of  youth).  Ten years older and significantly heavier I already know I won’t be repeating history.  But, since I have had a success in the past with the Couch-to-5k program I think I am going to give it another whirl.  The advantage of this program is that it’s not intimidating. The first week’s program begins with a brisk 5-minute walk that is followed by 1 minute of running and then 1.5 minutes of walking, which is repeated for a total of 20 minutes (8 times).  Total running time 8 minutes.

I just have to wake up and run.

One thought on “The Running Plan

Leave a Reply

