The End of Week 2 and a Change in Plans

This week’s program was really good.  Both my husband and I felt really comfortable with the 1.5 minute run / 2 minute walk for 6 intervals.  Again, the first day was a little challenging, but it got progressively easier as the week went on and we ran it five times this week.

We both feel like increasing the running by 30 seconds is challenging, but manageable.  However, both of us are concerned about the next phase of the Couch-to-5K program, which is a 5-minute warm-up walk followed by 90 seconds of running, 90 seconds of walking, 3 minutes of running, and then 3 minutes of walking.  The whole thing is done twice.

Carrying all this weight (I wish I was losing it like there’s no tomorrow) and the determination it takes to increase the running time by just 30 seconds, neither I nor my husband feel comfortable with the third week’s program. The total running time would be the same, but I don’t think I’ve built up enough endurance.  My husband feels the same, especially since the fourth week’s program changes to: run 3 minutes, walk 90 seconds, run 5 minutes, walk 2.5 minutes, run 3 minutes, walk 90 seconds, run 5 minutes.  I don’t see how I can jump from running 1.5 minutes to 3 minutes to 5 minutes in just 2 weeks.

The other problem is that I run outside, trying to memorize the intervals since all the times change is just a pain I don’t want to deal with.  Am I supposed to carry a piece of sweaty paper with me while I run.  It’s hard enough keeping track of the time and focusing on running.

We both want something less intimidating and simpler to keep track of. We’ve come up with our own plan and we’ll see how it goes from here. Basically, each week will increase the running by 30 seconds.

After a 5-minute walk the next few weeks’ running programs look like this:

Week 3: 2 mins. running / 2 mins. walking – 6 times

Week 4: 2.5 mins. running / 2.5 mins. walking – 6 times

Week 5: 3 mins. running / 2 mins. walking – 6 times

Week 6: 3.5 mins. running / 1.5 mins. walking – 6 times

Week 7: 4 mins. running / 1 min. walking – 6 times

We’ll see how it goes and make changes along the way where necessary.  I don’t know what week 8 will look like, but we’ll deal with it when we get there.

Leave a Reply

