Being a Scale Troll

On my way to the park for a run I spotted some beautiful flowers. Spring is here!

20150527_135229

We have been running for almost 4 weeks now.  According to our own program we have graduated to a 5-minute warm-up walk, followed by 6 intervals of 2.5 minutes running and 2.5 minutes walking. I am really proud of how well we have adapted to the increase in running time every week.

After a month of running 4 or 5 times a week it would be nice to see some results. And, by results I mean lose a few pounds/kilos. I know it hasn’t been that long since we started running and I shouldn’t expect miracles but losing a kilo or two would be great motivation at this point. Unfortunately, weighing myself is completely dependent on visiting someone’s house where there is a scale in the bathroom.

I’m what you call a scale troll. Whenever we visit friends I am on the lookout for a scale tucked away in the bathroom so I can privately chide myself for that night of pizza and beer or that piece of chocolate cake I couldn’t say “no” to.  After 4 weeks of running and a couple weeks of being more mindful about what we eat I was looking forward to visiting our friends who have a scale.

Sadly, the reading on the scale was the same it was before I started running (113 Kg). My husband’s weight hasn’t changed either (119 kg). And the true test is that my jeans, the ones that started this journey, are still tight.

It seems that we will have to focus more on what we are consuming to lose weight. Maybe it was naive to think that just exercising would make a significant difference. So, it’s time to cut out the crap in our diet.

I guess I better get used to just looking at things. So here’s one more snap. Enjoy!

20150527_142854

Leave a Reply

