To Stretch or Not to Stretch?

We’ve graduated to running 3 minutes and walking 2 minutes for 6 intervals, making running the majority of our workout for the first time. I won’t lie, it wasn’t easy the first day, but on the second and third days I definitely started easing into a rhythm.

photo courtesy Fré Sonneveld

Up until now the first interval of every workout has been hard, specifically the first few steps. The initial 30 seconds feels like a physical shock, like a jack-hammer on asphalt. It’s uncomfortable and makes me want to stop, but I power through and my body gets back to normal. To my surprise this temporary pain has disappeared, and the beginning of workouts is no longer something I warily anticipate.

This could also be related to the fact that my hubby and I are spending more time stretching before running. I know stretching before running is a little controversial, Runner’s World has done a little research, but for me my body seems to respond positively. Do you stretch before running?

Leave a Reply

