Two Hips No Hooray

Week 6 is upon us and we’re doing 6 intervals of 3.5 minutes running and 1.5 minutes walking. The walking time feels so short. It’s only enough time to cool down a little and as soon as I do it’s time to start running again. On the fifth and sixth intervals I just want to quit, but I keep telling myself that I have to keep going if I want to reach my goal.

When it gets hard I think back to what it was like so many years ago running on a treadmill. It was so much easier. It’s like the treadmill gives you a little oomph when you get fatigued. Is that cheating?

photo courtesy of Viktor Hanacek at @Picjumbo

I wasn’t really a fan of running in the park at the beginning, in fact I’d have preferred us starting this journey by joining a gym. However, it is such a commitment and one that I’m not so sure we can keep. But, there is one advantage to running outside that I didn’t anticipate. We’ve been starting our runs in pretty much the same spot in the park since we started and it is really amazing to see how far we used to run compared to how far we are capable of running now. A number on a treadmill can’t convey the progress we’ve made. I really feel a sense of accomplishment.

The only downside is that we are both feeling some aches and pains in our hips these days after our runs. It’s usually gone by morning, but I’m feeling more like grandma than a 30-something woman.  So, nowadays instead of have a gin and tonic at the end of the day the ice is on our hips rather than in our glasses.

Leave a Reply

