How Much “Should” You Weigh?

As I recover from my foot injury I have been doing a bit of online research about running and weight loss. After all, it’s just about the only thing I can do right now…

There is a lot of disagreement whether running can help you lose weight. Some articles say you have to vary your workouts more by running farther and faster to see results because our bodies adapt quickly, others say that exercise makes you feel hungrier so you end up eating more calories, thereby overcompensating for the workout you’ve just done, and still others say exercise has no effect on weight loss.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

Almost every article mentions the Body Mass Index (BMI). I have purposefully stayed away from this because I honestly don’t need another way to feel overweight. I know I am nowhere near where I “should” be according to the doctors who thought this system up. However, my curiosity got the best of me. I punched in my numbers on a BMI calculator I found only to be presented with a BMI of 36.6, which officially categorizes me as “obese.” To get my BMI to within the normal range of 18.5 – 24.9 I should weigh 120 – 161 lbs. That basically means I need to lose half my body weight.

That is a daunting task. If I add up the weight I “should” lose and the weight my husband “should” that weight makes up another person, a person who should lose weight I might add.

So the 60 lbs that was my initial goal should be more like 90 lbs to be at the high-end of the normal range of the BMI scale. This is just annoying, especially when I can’t run at the moment.

Leave a Reply

