Plantar Fasciitis

Being in pain and not being able to run has caused me to get progressively more anxious. We have been on such a good kick and this past week has been incredibly frustrating.

I am not advocating self-diagnosis for anyone, but google was very informative. It turns out that Plantar Fasciitis is one of the most common causes of heel pain according to the Mayo Clinic. I had been oscillating between Achilles Tendinitis and Plantar Fasciitis. My symptoms didn’t exactly fit either perfectly. What helped immensely in understanding the problem was this photo, which shows where Plantar Fasciitis heel pain is located. Even then, I only had the pain when I pointed my toes.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

As a result I checked online for at-home treatments. It turns out that one of the top recommendations is rolling the bottom of your foot and arch on a ball, like a lacrosse ball. Not having a lacrosse ball handy (who does?) I found a random tennis ball left behind from dog sitting our friends’ bulldog. It was late at night, but I massaged both feet and went to bed.

The next morning the pain was 90% gone. I continued massaging the bottom of my foot 3 or 4 times that day and icing it when possible. I also started doing some calf stretches. The next day the pain was even less. One of the recommendations was don’t walk barefoot so I rummaged around for a pair of slippers. All of these suggestions have really helped. If I don’t have pain tomorrow, I think I will try running.

Leave a Reply

