Post-injury Run

I never thought I would smile while running, but I guess people can change. I ran on Saturday for the first time in over a week. While I have been injured and unable run, I have encouraged my husband to keep on running without me. Even though I was jealous, I am immensely proud of him. He graduated from our program of 4 minutes running / 1 minute walking for 6 intervals to a workout of 6 minutes running / 4 minutes walking for 4 intervals.

cherry-blossoms-570046_1280
photo courtesy of pixabay

We had been talking about what to do next once we have finished our current program. My husband, who has to my surprise gotten into running more than I ever expected, found a weekly program at Breaking Muscle for beginners that trains you to eventually run a full hour.

Week 4 of the program is run 4 minutes followed by 1 minute of walking for 6 intervals (where we were when I got injured) so we can pick it up quite easily. However, it scares me a little to increase our running time from 4 to 6 minutes at one go. It seems like a lot, but my husband said it wasn’t that bad.

For the first post-injury run I decided I would try the new program and try to keep up with my hubby, but would stop if I had pain or discomfort. In fact, if I could run for 5 minutes I’d have been happy. Surprisingly, I did the whole workout and it wasn’t even that hard, except for the last interval where I had to push myself a little bit. I think resting a week really helped and despite my fear of losing what I’ve built up in running endurance it was all for nothing. Even better, my feet felt great – no pain.

I took Sunday off so I didn’t push myself too much and ran again tonight, which was also incredibly reassuring since it was easier than Saturday’s run. I am still using the ball to massage the bottom of my feet, doing calf stretches, and icing them after running.

Leave a Reply

