Fitness Apps for Running and Diet

I have been using a few new apps that I downloaded on my phone recently and I’m curious if they will help us get fit and lose some of the jelly belly we’ve acquired.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay; I wish my belly looked like this. I have a long, long way to go.

The first app I downloaded is the Runtastic Pedometer, because I wanted to know how far we were running. Unfortunately our park doesn’t have any distances marked. The app is nice because not only is it free, but it keeps a log of all your runs. The only downside is the accuracy. We start running in the same part of the park every run, which makes it easy for us to notice if we have run farther or less than previous days. The Runtastic Pedometer’s calculations are not always in line with what we see at the end of a run, but it is close.

I just downloaded the Google Fit App a few days ago, which is also a pedometer. It is a little fancier than the other app because it differentiates between walking and running. The distance is never the same though with the other app, but in the vicinity. It also tells you how many calories you have burned, which is a feature you have to pay for with the Runtastic Pedometer.

Another new app I’ve been using for the past few days is MyFitnessPal for our diet. I like this app a lot. This is the first time in my life I’m counting calories after every meal (or before when I’m deciding what to eat). It calculates how many calories you need a day to lose weight according to your weight, height, and activity level as well as your weight loss goal per week.

I was a little surprised when the app told me I could only have 1,750 calories a day to lose 1 kg a week, but if you input your cardio into the app it increases your calorie allowance for that day. There are a lot of foods they have registered the nutritional values for and I really like the bar code scan so I can just scan my groceries directly.

Anyway, according to MyFitnessPal if I keep to 1,750 calories a day I will lose 5 kg by July 6th. I don’t know if that will happen, but I’m willing to give it a try. What apps do you use to stay healthy and lose weight?

Leave a Reply

