Music That Gets You Running

I have a theory that there are 2 types of runners: those who can run without music and those who must have music.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

I’ve been listening to the same songs since I started running. In fact, for the first 6 weeks when our running intervals ranged from 1 – 4 minutes and I was still both physically and mentally acclimatizing to running for the first time in a decade only 1 song got me through to the end of every run.

I’m the type of runner (can I say I’m a runner after such a short time? It seems a little presumptuous) who must have music. If there is no music there is no running. I see people running without music and I really wonder how they do it. I like running, but I lack their discipline.

When I was 10+ years younger and in my 20s I used to run at a gym on a treadmill in front of a wall of TVs that I could choose from to listen to. I remember breaking the gym’s 30-minute time limit on a regular basis because the distraction of TV while running allowed me to keep going. If a favorite show was on 60 minutes of running was a breeze.

Running outside has its advantages, but I can’t help but wonder if this whole running endeavor we started in April would have been easier if I was running and watching a re-run of some show. Of course, it does seem a bit like zombie running, where your mind is completely disconnected from what your body is doing.

With just my mp3 player at the park I have heavily relied on my running playlist, but as I said it was comprised of just 1 song for many weeks; Foo Fighters’ “Best of you.” Cheesey perhaps, but the beat kept me going forward.

Admittedly, and to my surprise and delight, running 4 or 5 minutes continuously is no longer a struggle (but we are running a 7-minute interval so the last 2 minutes are still pure torture). As a result, I have been able to expand my playlist. So here is my running music that helps me get through each run.

Running Playlist:

1. Foo Fighters – Best of you

2. Jimmy Eat World – In the Middle

3. Britney Spears – Work Bitch

4. Carly Rae Jepson – Call Me Maybe

5. Gwen Stefani – Hollaback Girl

6. Beyonce – Crazy in Love ft. JAY Z

7. Foo Fighters – My Hero

8. Maroon 5 – Moves Like Jagger ft. Christina Aguilera

9. Destiny’s Child – Survivor

Some make me cringe to admit and are a bit old, but they get the job done.

Do you need music when you run? What do you listen to when it gets tough?

Leave a Reply

