Running Makes Your Derrière Perky

I spent the last couple weeks running, staring at the back of my hubby’s head. I jog along watching him gradually pull farther and farther ahead of me. I don’t particularly mind the view, his derrière is definitely looking really good these days (a benefit of running that is seriously underrated).

We used to run side-by-side, but as our running intervals got longer and, therefore harder, I haven’t been able to keep up. His legs are longer and stronger, and sometimes I feel like it’s a miracle to just be able to run on my stubby, tree trunks that I have for legs.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

I’ve been slowing down to what feels like a crawl in the third interval of our running program, and while I’m struggling not to give up and walk, my hubby is often 200 – 300 meters ahead of me, sometimes completely out of view if the park is a little crowded.*

Even though he can maintain a faster pace, he’s having issues controlling his breathing and he’s at the upper limits of what his heart-rate should be. His hips are also quite stiff post-run, and the following day. So, while it appears like all is well, he is in fact suffering.

I’ve got my own issues: I can’t keep up the pace towards the end of the run and it feels physical, but I have a feeling it is mental.

Last week my husband, unbeknownst to me, had decided to run with me so that he could work on his breathing and test whether his speed was causing the hip pain. The outcome was unexpected. Of course he slowed down, but I, surprisingly, sped up. In fact, on the second day of actually running together we ran further than he was when I was lagging behind him. It was really helpful to have him next to me. I suppose I was trying not to make him suffer through my snail’s pace, but in doing so I had the mental motivation to keep up the pace and go faster. Not only did I keep up, but he had an easier time breathing and his hip was less painful.

We’ve been running buddies this entire time, but this last week we actually ran as buddies. It was incredibly helpful running together. I’m the type who is perfectly happy working out on my own, never seeking people out to exercise with, but I must admit there are advantages.

Do you workout with a buddy? Or do you workout alone?

*After reading this post, my husband strongly disagrees with me and says I’m “exaggerating.” He claims he is only 20 to 50 meters ahead of me. I maintain my original point.

3 thoughts on “Running Makes Your Derrière Perky

  1. No buddy, here, and on the fence about it. I did run with a friend at my old job, and that’s really what helped me get into marathon shape. But, generally, I like just running by myself.

    I will say that your husband is not outrunning you because of his long legs. Perhaps stronger, but not because they’re long. I’m short (5’3″), and I used to have a complex about my height as it related to my running. But the running friend I mentioned above, he was probably 6’5″ (I bet we looked funny running together). Everything is relative. The taller you are, the more energy it takes to move you – and vice versa. Many elite runners are 5’7 ish and even some great ones like Haile Gebrselassie are 5’5″. It’s not your height, trust me.
    I would also mention that he’s probably playing a dangerous game with his heart if he’s breathing that hard…y’all should get heart rate monitors, if you don’t already, and live in that world for a bit. It *will* change your runs since your HR is a much better gauge for perceived effort over breathing; perhaps, in some cases, it’s a better gauge than what your mind tells you.
    You should see this as competition and kick his butt in some longer runs 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Being heavy causes a lot of issues with cardio. Maybe you experienced it as well in the past. We both struggled at the beginning a little when we started running and then acclimated and were fine for a few weeks. However, as the intervals have gone to 8 minutes and now 12, breathing issues have returned. It is getting easier with each run (though sometimes complicated by Summer weather) and I think it is mostly about getting in shape and transitioning from a sedentary lifestyle to a much more active one. My husband has issues keeping a good pace. His natural tendency is to just go faster and faster, which doesn’t make it easy to control his breathing. So, when he sticks with me the pace is more regular and his breathing is much better. Actually running side-by-side is really benefiting him.

    We have been thinking about getting heart-rate monitors and I think your advice is quite on point. It is something we are considering buying.

    About not being able to run fast, my legs are not so strong. It is only recently that I started seeing a few muscles making their presence known in my legs. They definitely got a bit thinner with running, but it has taken some time to see some muscles.

    Thanks for your input, I really appreciate it!

    Like

  3. I surely did experience it. I was at one point 165 lbs. at 5’3″, I think it was close to being obese. My breathing was always bad until I got an HR monitor. After that, I learned to pace myself. After learning to pace myself, I was able to go farther and longer. I think what your hubby is doing is great..and you too. But it does have a certain plateau when you consider that all he is burning are the glycogen in muscles and liver; rather than fat. You guys are doing great and totally understand (and relate) where you are. Just keep at it..you guys are role models already.

    Like

Leave a Reply

