Almost 100

At the moment it’s about 2 hours earlier than I normally wake up. The dog we are dog-sitting woke us up bright and early. Is this normal? And I think all she wanted was some company. So, we are up drinking our first cup of coffee listening to her snore, because she already went back to sleep and we couldn’t.

I have run a few times on the treadmill this week and it isn’t getting easier. I thought it would be. The air conditioning, despite the fact that its temperature control is set to arctic conditions, can’t prevent me from getting hotter than ever before. I finish a run with sopping wet clothes, which has never happened before. My husband looks like he took a shower in his clothes when he is done running.

The park where we run on the seaside. I took this photo on our last run before we came to our friends' place for 10 days. Who knew I'd have such nostalgia about it.
The park where we run on the seaside. I took this photo on our last run before we came to our friends’ place for 10 days. Who knew I’d have such nostalgia about it.

I think one of the reasons that interval training on the treadmill is more difficult is because when we run outside I set the stopwatch on my phone to 14 minutes each interval. I’m not looking at the total time I’ve been running/walking. On the treadmill, I’d have to turn it on and off to reset the time so for the first time I’m seeing numbers like 42 minutes, 51 minutes… It is a little daunting. My brain is wrongly telling me that I can’t do this. Chopping up the time into 14-minute chunks is so much more manageable.

In addition to giving all my sweat glands a run for their money, I decided to weigh myself. I was trying to lose 5 kg by July 6th using the myfitnesspal app. Unfortunately, I just couldn’t stick with the app. It got so tedious logging all my food, not that the app makes it difficult. In fact, it’s pretty easy. I just don’t have the patience or sometimes the time. So, this morning I woke up and weighed myself.

scale
Excuse my ugly toes

I’m pretty pleased with the results. I started out at 113 kg a few months ago. Running and eating better is really benefiting me. It will be a real feat when I see the number on the scale at less than 100 kg. Hopefully, that will happen in the next couple weeks.

What are your weight loss goals?

2 thoughts on “Almost 100

  1. Congratulations on your weightloss so far! I have the same issues with working out on machines. I have my own elliptical and the time seems to go by super slow if I have to see all the numbers creep by. Typically, I set the elliptical to some interval mode and then set the timer somewhere between 30-50 minutes (depending on if I’m lifting that day) and cover the counter/display with a t-shirt so I don’t have to look at it. Then I play games on my iPod/watch netflix. It seems to help the time fly by! Anyway, I applaud you for getting up and running! It’s a tough thing, but for sure worth it. Keep up the amazing work!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the support! I used to work out at gyms in my 20s, but somehow in my 30s everything has changed and it’s making me crazy. I’ll be glad when we get back to our own house and can run outside in the park.

      Like

Leave a Reply

