Recipe: Healthy French Fries

Talking about french fries yesterday only made me want to eat french fries. I don’t know why I love them so much. I’m a carb crazy, potato-luvin’ kind of person

20150702_212021

If I hadn’t found a way to make a healthy version of french fries I’d probably have gotten to a much higher weight than 113 kg. It would also be impossible to lose any weight. So, I thought I’d share a recipe that makes me feel like I’m truly indulging myself instead of eating something that is not bad for you. In fact, I like these french fries better than normal, deep-fried french fries.

Recipe: Baked French Fries

2 lbs (1 kg) potatoes

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 Tbsp smoked paprika*

1 egg white

Salt and Pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius (400 F). Line an oven tray with parchment paper and spread the olive oil evenly over the surface.

20150702_200141

Cut the potatoes into french fries.

20150702_200637

Toss the potatoes in a bowl with the egg white, smoked paprika, and salt and pepper to taste. (I added a little oregano to mine).

20150702_201056

20150702_201107

Try to get the spices to cover the potatoes evenly.

20150702_201316

Spread the potatoes on the lined oven tray into a single-layer and put them in the oven. It takes about 45 minutes to cook and you can flip them at the halfway point. You’ll know they’re done when they turn golden brown. These french fries are crispy like they were fried thanks to the egg white.

If you’re like me you want to dip your french fries into something, but ketchup and mayonnaise are not so healthy. If you’re looking for a healthier alternative to mayonnaise or ketchup I came up with a very simple concoction.

Mix 1 finely chopped clove of garlic, with a tablespoon of dried dill or a few springs of fresh dill that has been chopped, and 2/3 cup of plain yogurt. I prefer to use Greek yogurt, but if I don’t have any regular yogurt works, too.

*You can switch out the smoked paprika with other combinations. Sometimes I use smoked paprika or oregano or rosemary.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Healthy French Fries

Leave a Reply

