Are You A Runner?

I ask this question of myself from time to time… “Am I a runner and everything that entails?”

When I tell friends and colleagues that I’ve started running they automatically give me a once over with their eyes. Sure I’ve lost weight, but I still have a lot more to go and I can hear their thoughts, “She doesn’t look like a runner.” I have a long way to go and I don’t have the physique of a runner, but yet aren’t I a runner?

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

In my mind, someone is a runner if they pull on their running shoes and go run on a regular basis. The distance or speed doesn’t matter as long as they run.

I think it’s hard for people to consider you a runner when you don’t fit the physical stereotype of lean and muscular. Being on the heavier side of things, this is definitely not me or my husband. Maybe people don’t think we are runners, because we started running to lose weight. Perhaps they assume we’ll quit when we reach our goal weight.

But, while I can’t speak for my hubby, I don’t plan on quitting running. In fact, the last week or so of running has been exceptionally good. I’m getting stronger, faster, and building up my endurance.

I had to buy a new pair of running pants because I wore mine out, I bought shoes I use exclusively for running, and I’m eyeing a Garmin as a future purchase because I want more precise numbers on my distance and speed that my phone’s app can’t provide. I have runner’s guilt when I don’t run and when I do run I feel like it’s been a productive day. When I’ve injured myself and couldn’t run, I’ve gotten runner’s depression.

To the lay-non-runner, however, they don’t know what this means. They don’t know what an accomplishment it is to go from running 8 minutes a session to 48. I hope I am able to continue running for a long time.

11 thoughts on “Are You A Runner?

  1. I still don’t consider myself one of those ‘runners’, you know, the guys and girls you see merrily jogging along, like it’s easy, without even breaking a sweat. If I’m not dying at the end of a run, I feel like I haven’t tried hard enough. Our flatmate runs, and every time she comes back, she looks as fresh as when she left. And yet, I consider her a runner, but not myself. Weird how we project stuff, huh?

    Truth is, if you run, you’ve won. Don’t worry about anyone else.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I tend to agree with you. If someone doesn’t look like a wreck after a run it is hard to believe they ran. I look like I have been dragged by a truck in the rain for 6 blocks after I run… I guess we are harder on ourselves at the end of the day – always expecting more.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Definitely you are a runner. It is always interesting how society puts labels on this and that, according to what they perceive.

    This is an excellent post, bringing awareness that runners include people like me….no longer youthful, and prone to injury. Thanks for sharing, and thanks for finding me and for the follow. It is an honour to follow back, and encourage you along your running journey! 🙂

    ~Carl~

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think being a runner is like being a member of a club. Even if unspoken there is a code of conduct, common experience, and recognition amongst us. But, very few of us realize we are members… I liked your blog too. You are definitely a runner.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. No doubt you are a runner!!! One thing I hate is when people say anyone can go out and run. That is like saying anyone can pick up a baseball bat and swing it yet that doesn’t make them a ball player. To me a runner is a person who understands everything about the running community. The way we get out ther for whatever reason and are always trying to improve ourselves. The way we try to motivate each other to do better. A persons time or distance doesn’t make them a runner its the small things that go with it that makes you the runner.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Runners come in all shapes and sizes. If you go to a race, that is what you see. Running at least to me, is more about a lifestyle of active exercise and striving for fitness and improvement in one’s self than anything else.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. May I also add that I have seen many a non-conventional looking runner clobber a more stereotypically built runner in a race. Never ever underestimate anyone 😃

    You are indeed a runner and you have come so very far. Kudos to you and your hubby and my sincere well wishes for speedy and compete recoveries for you both!

    Like

Leave a Reply

