Food as a Substitute for Running

It’s no surprise that I couldn’t run yesterday evening as a result of back pain, so I decided to shift my nervous, frustrated-filled energy towards food. Food: makes me feel better one bite at a time.

But, before you get concerned that I might gain back the 13 kg I’ve already lost since March or binge eat my way to ginormous, I have to say we are still eating pretty healthy. In fact, any time my Hubs and I have food that is deep-fried, sugary, or covered in chocolate icing with sprinkles it just doesn’t taste good and we feel yucky and remorseful afterwards. But, this is happening much less often (the eating unhealthy, not the remorse).

Since the park where we run is just a 10-minute walk from our house we decided to picnic the crap out of the evening as consolation for not being able to run. I also kind of like mentally supporting or coaching the other runners we see. In my head I’m saying things like “tuck your elbows in” or “way to go.”

20150721_221055

I’ve gotten a little bored of our typical evening fare so I made something a little different last night; roasted vegetable sandwiches and corn and tomato salad. The time I would have spent running, I spent getting my Martha Stewart on. Both dishes were delicious. I only wish I’d thought of taking a photo before we left the house. By the time we got to the park it was past sunset so the glow of the artificial lights doesn’t do the food justice. And, we have enough food for either lunches tomorrow or a repeat dinner.

20150721_221011

Both recipes are quite easy and can be made ahead of time. They are perfect for Summer and vegetarian.

Roasted Vegetable Sandwiches (yields 4 large sandwiches)

1 medium-sized eggplant, cut into 1/4-inch circles

1 medium-sized zucchini, cut into 1/4-inch circles

2 sweet red peppers, seeded and cut into 1-inch strips

2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

2 Tbsp. pesto (store-bought or homemade)

1 ball of fresh mozzarella, sliced thin

bread, enough for 4 large or 6 small sandwiches

Pre-heat the oven to 175 degrees celsius and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Spread 1 Tbsp. of olive oil onto the parchment paper.

Salt the eggplant slices and let them sit on paper towels for 10 minutes to get rid of any bitterness before cooking. Then, place the eggplant and zucchini slices along with the red pepper on the lined and oiled baking sheet in a single layer. Dribble the remaining olive oil over the slices and put them in the oven. After 10 minutes, flip the vegetables. Start checking the vegetables after 5 minutes. Usually the eggplant finishes in 5 minutes, and the zucchini and red pepper are done about 10 minutes after flipping.

Once fork tender, remove the vegetables from the oven and allow them to cool. Assemble the sandwiches by spreading some pesto on one slice of bread and layering the vegetables on top. Finish it off with a slice or two, depending on the type of bread you chose, of fresh mozzarella.

Corn and Tomato Salad

4 ears of corn

10-15 cherry tomatoes

1/4 c. feta cheese, crumbled or cubed

a handful of parsley

a handful of basil

2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

Salt and pepper

Bring a large pot of water to boil and add the corn. Cook for 5 minutes and remove from the water. Allow them to drain and cool.

Quarter the tomatoes, and chop the herbs while the corn cools. When the corn can be easily handled, stand it upright in a bowl and, with a large knife, slice off the corn kernels.

Mix the corn with the tomatoes and herbs, and add the olive oil. Then, add the feta cheese and add salt and pepper to taste.

20150721_221033

6 thoughts on “Food as a Substitute for Running

  1. I’m so sorry you can’t run. That’s the WORST! But I like that you are consoling yourself with food 🙂 And it’s HEALTHY, too! Usually my injuries are accompanied by lots of tears, Netflix and anything with sugar in it. I like to eat my feelings, LOL! Heal fast!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If I gain weight while injured it will send me over the edge. I have worked hard to start running and eat better this year. Back pain is one thing, having to re-lose the weight I have lost is another. I am fighting the urge to just jam chocolate in my mouth at this point…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

