Adventures in Shopping to Run

We have been really slow at buying stuff for running. Call me frugal or second-guessing my commitment to running, even though we’ve been going strong since March, but I tend to err on the side of caution. Slowly but surely, however, we have started buying running gear.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

After asking you readers and fellow runners what you thought about tech shirts that claim to “wick away the sweat” and keep you cool while running, my hubby and I went back out into the retail shopping fray and looked at running shirts. I just want to say thank you to all the commenters. Everything you guys and gals said was extremely helpful.

We went to the sporting goods store and tried on different brands – adidas, nike, puma, etc – again and compared how they fit, felt, price, etc. Sadly, Under Armour, which seems to be everyone’s favorite brand, is not available here. We would have to ship it from abroad and pay customs fees, etc. But, in my diligent research I read that UA is planning on setting up shop here in the near future. Until then, we have to make due with what is available.

We each found some shirts and as we took turns trying them all on, and there were a bunch, and asking the other how it looked, I did a little search on my phone and found the exact same shirts on sale. I love a sale! So, we placed the order last night and hopefully they are on their way soon. My hubby and I are both slightly sceptical on these high-tech shirts, but me and technology are not the best of friends. I just gave up my dumb-phone for a smart-phone 3 months ago. I’m a little slow to acclimate. I mean, I still have fond memories of the rotary phone my parents kept when I was a child in the 1980s. So, we are (im)patiently waiting for the shirts to come and give them a try.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

When we had our last shopping trip a few days before, which turned into a frustrating disaster, we also bought mp3 armbands for each of us. We have been running with everything in our hands until now. This wasn’t a big deal before when we started running 1 minute and walking 1 minute 8 times, but now that our intervals have moved up to 18 minutes 3 times holding stuff is just annoying.

Every run I have my half-broken ipod, the screen of which does not work, in one hand and my phone in the other so I know the time and distance we’ve run. My husband has his ipod in one hand, the keys to the house, and a bottle of water in the other. The first time we used the armbands it was so much of a relief. Why did we wait this long to buy these armbands?

my running savior
my running savior

We have been crazy busy with work. We work together and when one of us is busy, both of us are busy. This Summer there has been a lot going on. We didn’t get the chance until this week to take some time to shop, and a phone call this morning just informed us we are about to enter another busy streak for a few weeks. I’m really glad we did our shopping when we did. So, if anyone out there wants to start running just go get an armband now and don’t think twice. It’s worth it.

But, I’m a little miffed at the options that sports apparel brands offer. I swear the sizes are smaller than normal. I just want to get this off my chest: I know a lot of people who run, play tennis, soccer, etc. are already fit and on the slim-side, but a lot of us are trying to lose some weight and we don’t fit into XS. It would be nice if these companies realized that a lot of people who want to buy sportswear are on the bigger-side of the size chart. Just my two cents.

photo courtesy of pixabay
Normally, I feel like this when I try on sportswear: A big giant walrus; photo courtesy of pixabay

The caveat is that with the 15 kg I’ve lost since March I do fit into shirts and I actually had some choices – a first in several years. My husband has lost 12 kg and he also had more options than before so that is the good news and the sportswear companies have avoided an ugly diatribe about their size-ist clothing policies. 🙂

Do you ever get frustrated with sportswear sizing? 

12 thoughts on “Adventures in Shopping to Run

  1. I get frustrated with sizing that’s all over the place & I AM a S now (wasn’t always).

    I’ve only had a smartphone about a half yr. with me it wasn’t tech, it was money. I don’t work anymore, so I have to be a little frugal. Sort of. It just fell into want, not need, until my husband found a plan that was less for both of us than we were paying before.

    Enjoy the new clothes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I hope they are as good as claimed. We are going to see when they come. The first day of a longer interval is always hard but manageable. 1 min is very small at this point but I feel the difference mentally each time.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks. Yes we run 3 intervals so being able to run 1 full hour is on the horizon. As soon as the temperatures improve we will cut back the walking intervals to do one full-hour without walking. But it is so hot I need the walking breaks.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I actually still sometimes carry my ipod in my hand. And it is a huge pain. I bought this thing called a Spibelt, which is just like a super nerdy/techy fanny pack. So i usually feel like a total doofas when I wear it, but it seems to do the trick.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have hips so finding running shorts and pants that fit properly can be frustrating. There’s always someplace that feels too loose or too tight. I run with a Fitletic belt that I love. I had too many chafing issues with armbands. Enjoy your new gear!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Some kind of iPod holder is on my “wishlist” right now as well. I did actually start to look at trainers today. But most of my shopping is done on the internet, so it’s always a bit of a risk whether it’s going to be the right fit or not. Maybe I’ll venture into a shoe shop at one point…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

