The Running Dialogue

Me: “You wanna run tonight?” looking at my husband, half-wincing that he might say “yes.”

Hubby: “It’s kinda hot, don’t you think?”

Me: “Yup. It’s hot. The air is thick and it feels as if outside is just a giant sauna.”

Hubby: “Wanna go for a picnic instead?”

Me: “Sure.”

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

This is basically the conversation we’ve been having every night when it’s running decision time. We are not committed to the run these days. I’m only committed to the air conditioning.

I was actually all set to run on Sunday. It was hot, but not kill-me-now hot, humid but not suffocatingly so. But, I got my very first taste of vertigo on Sunday. I’ve never really had it before, but it was like walking on a moving sidewalk that you might see at an airport, except when I look down there is just cement. Standing on the metro I felt a little sickly as the metal tube I was in traversed the underground tunnels of the city at high speed.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

At the end of the day I just didn’t feel good, and I really wasn’t willing to run with intermittent vertigo. It seems like not such a good plan. What if I fell? So, just when I thought our unrunning streak was over I got sucked back in. I think I was probably a bit dehydrated and tired, because the next day I felt much better. That sensation of moving without moving hasn’t come back, so I’m quite happy and hopefully tonight we can get a run in.

The other good news is that our new running shirts arrived and we can finally start understanding what everyone is talking about. We’ll see if our suspicions were unfounded or not that this whole running shirt technology is a bit of a sham. I really hope they help in this humidity.

9 thoughts on “The Running Dialogue

  1. Awww I hope you are feeling better now.

    some mornings I have similar conversations with myself. shall I go for a run? yes. You need to get out of bed. A just s few more minutes. and so on… it can sometimes take me over half an our to get myself ready x

    Liked by 2 people

  2. The best thing is to get up early, don’t contemplate and get out there! I am not a morning person and I used to love running in the late afternoons. However, now that my hubby is a runner, we try to avoid the sun and hot temperatures as he doesn’t do well in heat and humidity. As much as I despise getting up at 5 am it has been amazing finishing up our long runs before the weather is unbearable. (And we avoid the summer crowds). The best part is I have time to take a nap! But I hear you 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. It is so hard to get motivated in the heat. As a teacher, I am fortunate enough to have the opportunity to run in the morning before it gets hot for most of the summer. I go back next week and I will struggle daily with the heat and getting motivated until it cools off and we head into fall. Don’t worry about your un-running streak – not permanent!! You are doing great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

