Creaky Hips Running

An old creaky door sounds like I feel. After every run, especially as we get closer to that final goal of running a full hour, the aches and pains set in. Yesterday I literally felt like I was hobbling around. My right hip is tired. I don’t know if it’s possible for a hip to feel or get tired, but that’s the best way I can describe it. I’m icing it when I can, but I’m not sure if it helps.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

And yet, even despite the heat, I’m walking like a gazelle through an open plain. I walk so fast now. I know I’ve probably said it before, but walking got easier as we have lost some pounds and extended our running time. I wasn’t struggling to walk before we took up running, but the ease with which I walk now due to my now impressively strong legs makes me wonder how much work walking really was before.

I’m not the only one who is hobbling around. My hubby, yesterday, said his legs just felt tired. I think the Summer temperatures and still being heavy runners is taking its toll on us. I wish some pounds would just melt away already, because I am curious if running will get easier and if being lighter will make a big difference in everyday life.

The good news is that the heat wave seems to be dissipating and there is even a chance of rain tomorrow. I would literally kill to have the chance to run in the rain at this point. I have only run in light sprinkles, when we first began running in March or April, but I’m starting to have small daytime fantasies of running in the rain.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

Do you like running in the rain?

13 thoughts on “Creaky Hips Running

  1. I love running in the rain, provided I’m kitted out to the full!

    For general aches and pains I recommend buying a foam roller, Runners World have some great exercises you can do. Also the book Running Like a Girl is one of my all-time favourites, and there’s a section in the back all about common aches and pains, and how to prevent them from turning into something worse.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You need to do the yin yoga videos I sent! They are gentle and will work magic on those aches and pains. Also, I am with Pippa – get a foam roller for sure. They are awesome! Lastly, I recommend ice baths or Epsom salt baths. Ice is great immediately after a run, Epsom is great once the fatigue and general soreness kicks in. Ice is generally unpleasant initially but once you go numb, it’s fine. I recommend a 10-15lb bag if you can handle it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Be careful that you aren’t upping your distance too fast or running too fast — achy hips aren’t a good sign (trust me on that). I know you’ve taken a few extra days off here & there, but pay attention to how you’re feeling and take an extra day of rest if something doesn’t feel right.

    When it’s warm, and it’s not pouring, running in the rain feels good.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How old are your shoes?
    Definitely start foam riling daily, stretching and have a good warm up and cool down.
    Rest days or cross training days help too
    Hope you both feel better!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Shoes can start to go bad as early as 200 miles. Quicker if you are a harder runner, sweat builds up in them (can break them down quicker) and if your gait if off.
        Some shoes can go to 500 miles. I hurt when I need new shoes. It’s the quickest sign my shoes are going.
        Good luck. Hope you both feel better

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the rain. And cherish the pain, as weird as it sounds. It means you’re working it and putting your body in an uncomfortable state. I personally love it when I’m soar. It’s a reminder that I did something meaningful the previous day(s). Rest up, but don’t put such a negative spin on it. It’s your battle “wound”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

