Pizza + Burgers + Beer ≠ Happy Scale Numbers

From the title you may have an idea of where this is going…

We weigh ourselves every Monday morning. It’s our little weekly ritual my husband and I do. Sometimes we are greeted with the satisfying news of having lost weight and sometimes the not-so-great news that we stayed the same or, horror of horrors, gained weight.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

I’ve learned through these past few months that running is as much a mental exercise as a physical one. I’ve also realized that losing weight is quite similar.  It is a mental game of endurance, similar to running. Where your head is at is so critical to performance in both. I think I was under the misconception that running was mostly physical – how strong your legs were and how much your body could take. Likewise, I thought that losing weight was only about what you ate. But, this is really not the case.

So, today is Monday and we weighed ourselves. All I can say is that I’m a bit disappointed. I actually gained some weight and my initial reaction was “How is that possible?” I sat annoyed for a good hour. I couldn’t understand the mechanics. I eat well, I walk, I run… My friends last night even said I looked like I’ve lost more weight since I saw them 2 weeks ago. So why can’t the scale just affirm all this? Why does my scale have to be a jerk?

I was convinced that somehow everything was working against me, especially that stupid scale. Then, my husband, who lost almost a kilo this week, reminded me I had pizza 2 times this week and burgers (homemade, but still they are burgers) and a beer last night when we ate at our friends’ place. All I could think was “Oh, crap.” I am actually the one responsible for the lack of weight loss. I forgot about that sometimes unpredictable factor in the weight loss journey – my head and most importantly what I like to eat. It should be obvious that having pizza, burgers, and beer will not help me lose weight.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

So, it’s the start of a new week and I’m going to be better this week; more mindful of what I put in my body and I will aim to make the smarter choice. In terms of running, I hope the weather man is right and that the temperatures will be cooler this week, which will allow us to run without feeling like death is just around the corner. Hopefully, if I can run every other day like we used to and eat better I will see a better set of numbers on the scale next week.

12 thoughts on “Pizza + Burgers + Beer ≠ Happy Scale Numbers

  1. Water weight is such a factor for women. Don’t worry too much on the scale at all but go more how you feel, your clothes feel and you mental well being. Enjoying foods in moderation like you are is better for weight loss than cutting them out. You enjoyed then, you know to stay on track this week so the meal you enjoyed didn’t detail you and keep on going. Stressing about it only makes it worse! It’s almost impossible, unless you totally gorged to gain weight for enjoying a meal. A pound is an extra 3500 calories. It’s probably water weight and will come right off.
    You’re doing great! Keep it up and throw that scale away lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck in your quest. You might be losing inches (or mm, I guess). i had a few months in the winter where I was being super health conscience. The scale never really moved but I lost an inch off my waistline and over 2 inches around my hips.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Setbacks happen but your attitude is awesome! Don’t let a few meal choices affect your attitude moving forward – use it as motivation. Which you are doing!! Also remember – muscle weighs more than fat. You’re building lots of muscles running!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good luck with your weight loss this week, and with getting back on track. My scale didn’t have good things to say to me yesterday when I weighed in either. So, I’m recommitting again this week, too. We can do it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

