Running Envy

So far this week I haven’t been able to run. My right hip has been painful so I have taken a few days off. And, at the suggestion of Allison over at invertedsneakers.wordpress.com I have started doing some yin yoga routines that she suggested on her blog. Hopefully, it will help my hip heal and I think it will, because if you don’t already check out Allison’s blog regularly you really should.  She is a running/yoga/all-round workout machine – and I say that with respect and awe. If I had half the energy and motivation she did I think I would be able to rule the world and come home and run my 8.5 km every night. 🙂  It’s for this reason that I am so glad I started blogging when my husband and I decided to get serious about losing weight by eating better and starting to run. I have engaged with so many inspiring runners and bloggers, and it is so nice to have a community of people who know what you are going through and offer advice.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

While I couldn’t run, my husband did lace up and go out for a run. When he has to run alone because I can’t it doesn’t always end well. Without me he has trouble pacing himself. He starts out too fast and poops out too early and can’t finish the run. He has a naturally faster pace than me. I’ve gradually gotten a little faster over time, but I still can’t go as fast as him.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

So, he went out on Monday night for a run. As he tells me, he continued our 3 intervals of running for 19 minutes. By the time he was 3 minutes from the end of the last interval he had already passed where we ended the run before and gone on another 200 meters. That’s when he stopped. So, he didn’t quite finish the interval, but he went farther than we had before. It was also hot that night and humid, which doesn’t make any run easy. So, I’m really proud of him for going out and running and then running farther and keeping a reasonable pace through the run.

I won’t lie. I’m jealous that he went running, while I was stuck at home on the sofa. Running envy is a new phenomenon for me, but I definitely got a taste of it.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

The good news is that my hip is feeling better today and the plan is to go run tonight. Maybe I’m a little cautious about running with discomfort/pain, but I feel that since I am still on the heavy-side for a runner I should be more careful so that I don’t seriously injure myself and can’t run for longer than a few days.

How serious does an injury have to be for you to stop running?

15 thoughts on “Running Envy

  1. I’m so sorry your hip has been bugging you!! That is terrible. I hope the yoga helps you out, thank you for the shout out! I’ve had a bunch of pretty serious injuries that have stopped me from running, but I tried running through them (which is dumb and I don’t recommend at all) and it usually ends up with me having to take more time off, so you are SMART! I’ve had three stress fractures, a calf strain, and Achilles tendinitis (that was by far the worst injury) that made me stop running. I hate being sidelined. Yoga will help you for sure, and I hope you get to run soon!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I think it will help. It always sort of horrifies me the injuries caused by running. I haven’t had such a serious injury (knock on wood). Being smart about injuries and not running is just so frustrating though!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know. Believe me, I do know. But you are being very smart to be cautious. My Achilles was achy in December and after my last marathon, in June, it STILL hurt. The other day, it was achy again. If I would have just stopped and let it heal initially, I might not still have to worry about it. Much better to be cautious!!!! Even though it SUCKS!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely agree that one of the benefits of blogging is connecting with other bloggers. I’m sorry you’ve been unable to run but that’s great that yoga is helping. Good luck with your continued recovery!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Skinny. I’m so sorry you can’t run right now. I agree that the best thing to do is stop. I’ve also run through injury before and all it does is make things worse. I’m a really cautious runner nowadays, and always err on the side of caution. But yes- it’s so so frustrating! And I’m especially frustrated for you because it was your blog that first made me realise there was a world out there of people writing about their running. I think you were the first person (apart from people I already knew) who commented on my blog. So I’m really grateful to you. And I’ve really enjoyed reading all about your training. I love the way you run with your husband all the time (as I think I’ve told you about a zillion times!) and so it must heighten the frustration you feel when he’s heading out the door without you. Those yin videos from Allison are really great. I find now I just sit in some of the postiions whenever I get a moment here and there, and that helps too. I really hope you feel a bit better soon. Enjoy that feeling of chomping at the bit the next time you run! 🙂 Good luck! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thanks. I always look forward to your comments and your blog. I have learned so much from it. It truly inspires me to read about other people going after their goals. I’m so glad I started blogging. I never would have discovered so many fabulous people who run.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. yes- one of the most unexpected aspects has been the range of climates people run in. I mean… obviously I realise that different countries have different climates 😉 but I’d just never thought about the effect it has on your running when you’re not in the UK. Hope you get back to it properly soon 🙂

        Like

  4. Enjoy your run tonight, I hope it goes well! In the past I ran until I physically had to stop and hobble home and then to the xray dept. Them stubborn days are over – I know now that we need to take it easy when things aren’t working too well.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Skinny, I have had hip bursitis a few times so I know what you are talking about. Definitely ice the area and try to stretch your hips after every run (when you are back at it anyway). You are smart to rest and not run… being seriously injured sucks and IS NOT WORTH IT. So good job!! I hope you feel better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

