Weather-Dependent Running

After our 1-hour run on Friday, my right hip was so stiff. I walked a lot on the weekend – at least a couple hours each day – and it was still bothering me. On Monday, I made a conscious effort to do the least amounting of walking necessary. At the end of the day I think my hips were thanking me for it, too – no pain or discomfort. It seems I just needed a break from moving. It is taking time for my body to get used to running, I suppose.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

So, we just walked to the local Starbucks and did some grocery shopping, picking up a couple of melons before they are out of season. Our summer running routine of running after sunset forces us to eat a late lunch around 3 or 4pm, run at 8:30pm, and then we can’t really stomach any food post-run so we eat watermelon or honeydew.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

We didn’t run at all on the weekend, so Monday night was our next run. Being rested and recharged really helped me get excited for the run. As we walked down to the park, my hubby and I talked about what we would do: go for 2 intervals of 30 minutes or just run until we can’t anymore. We decided to let the weather decide.

I’m so disappointed the temperature has been creeping back up and the humidity has gotten worse in the last few days. I thought we were basically done with the horrible weather, but this week proved me wrong. Even though our house is just a 10-minute walk to the park it can have totally different weather conditions. You never know until you get to the park.

The park where we run on the seaside. I took this photo on our last run before we came to our friends' place for 10 days. Who knew I'd have such nostalgia about it.
This is the sidewalk we run on by the seaside.

The wind picked up as we moved closer to the seaside. We saw a couple runners and considering all the factors it appeared we would have a great run. We decided to just play it by ear in terms of how long the intervals would be. Not my favorite strategy since I like to plan things and like to know what I’m getting myself into before doing it. As we started the first interval I felt like we were running a bit fast. My hubby was excited, apparently, to try and run longer than 20 minutes. I had to forcefully slow us down halfway through the first interval.

Unfortunately, there were times when the wind completely died and it felt awful. We were sweating up a storm so when 20 minutes came around on the clock, we both instinctively knew that 20 minutes was enough. Today was not the day to go farther.

Even though I was a little hesitant about extending the intervals so quickly after just starting 1 hour of running, I have to admit I was a little disappointed that we couldn’t extend it by even 5 minutes yesterday. The weather gods were having no part of it. I was even dragging by the last 6 or 8 minutes of the last interval because of it.

My nemesis, the weatherman, says that the rest of this week is going to be hot and especially humid. Not good news! But, next week looks more promising.

Do you plan your runs beforehand or do you decide on the go?

12 thoughts on “Weather-Dependent Running

  1. I always loosely plan my runs. I need to at least think what I might do or mentally I can’t finish. I give myself a 2 mile buffer. Usually it’s 8-10 or 10-12 and go longer if I need to cut back of I’m not feeling it. It helps me a lot!
    Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always plan my run before I start but sometimes I have to modify based on what my body is telling me. I live in SoCal so I don’t usually have to adjust for the weather except for the few weeks in late summer when it’s unbearably hot and humid. It is frustrating when you can’t do the run you want.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am stiff today! I went on a 5.5 mile interval run yesterday and I am feeling sore-ish today, specially on my knees and calves. Nothing super painful but I walked a couple km’s after work (where I spent 8 hours on my feet…) and had a hearty meal. Hopefully I’ll be fine to get 5 miles in tomorrow! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Be careful — we’re mentally ready for more running before our bodies are actually ready. It really takes time for muscles, tendons & ligaments to get used to the pounding that is running.

    So it’s probably better that the weather isn’t too conducive to longer runs yet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

