More Running Less Walking

Getting to the point where we could run 60 minutes was our first major running goal. We’ve been running 3 intervals of 20 minutes with 2 walking breaks of 3 minutes for a little over a week now. But, of course, we are anxious to cut out those walking breaks, especially my hubby. He really wants to barrel-through an hour of continuous running. Our approach to this task is just extending the running intervals of 20 minutes longer to, ideally, 30 minutes.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

We’ve been waiting (im)patiently for the weather to get a little cooler and a little less humid. Something more pleasant than that feeling that you are running circles in a giant’s sweaty bellybutton. Last week was awful, dreadful weather. But, last night things were different. There was still humidity, but the temperature was a couple of degrees less than “let’s see if we can fry an egg on the roof of the car.” When we walked down to the park we said that at 19 minutes of the first interval we’d decide if we would keep going or not.

A nice breeze picked up as we started and off we went. We saw the beer belly trio of guys running as usual, only last night they had expanded to a quadruplet. These guys are pretty consistent. I wish they’d discard the jackets when they run in the heat because it makes me hot looking at them, but I admire their nightly dedication. I think 2 random people saw us running and started running themselves for 10-second bursts (weirdos). We even saw another couple running in the opposite direction and the park kittens were so cute jumping all over each other being playful. It was the typical evening run. In fact, the only thing out of the ordinary was that there were far fewer people at the park – you gotta love it when school starts and the kids have to be home early.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

At 19 minutes in the first interval I felt pretty decent. We hadn’t run on the weekend and I didn’t walk too much yesterday so I was rested. As we approached running 20 full minutes of running, I wasn’t itching to walk as is sometimes the case. I had steadied my pace so I wasn’t burnt out. I turned to my hubby and said I felt pretty good and he left the decision up to me. So we kept running. 25 minutes of straight running would have been a nice goal, but in the back of my mind I wanted 30. And 30 we did. I’m really proud of us for breaking our 1 hour of running into just 2 intervals of 30 minutes tonight.

photo courtesy of pixabay
photo courtesy of pixabay

It may seem like a small achievement to those of you who do 18-mile runs once a week (masochists), but for us this is a huge step towards running that full hour non-stop. I’m hoping that we will get there not too slowly. However, I’m not really sure how we should proceed once 2 intervals of 30 minutes feels good.

Should we cut the walking break from 3 minutes to 2 minutes to 1 minute to just 1 hour of running? Or extend the first interval of running from 30 minutes to 40 to 50? I’m not quite sure. What would you do?

17 thoughts on “More Running Less Walking

  1. Don’t think it matters hugely. You either keep a number of breaks and cut down on each break time, or reduce the overall number of breaks. The key thing is to keep running, ideally three times a week, and slowly but surely your breaks will vanish and you can run for the hour non-stop, which is a big goal for anyone. Personally, being something of a masochist, I would try and cut out the breaks. Push the half hour to 40 minutes next time, and then maybe 45 or 50. Keep running though. That’s the trick!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Cut the break down to a minute I think. 3 is a long break. After that cut it out completely. If you can run consistently for an hour with breaks the only thing stopping you from not having breaks is all mental. Your body doesn’t actually need them at this point. With that said nothing wrong with taking breaks either. Those people doing 18 mile long runs every week (okay so that’s sometimes me too) are taking breaks as well. My 3 hour runs typically take an extra 30 minutes to do if I were to let the clock keep ticking. When you’re running more than an hour it really doesn’t make a difference. And it’s just some time to stretch, fuel and shake out the muscles. And sometimes you really just need to reset, so sometimes you need a break. Other times you can run the whole thing without even thinking of stopping

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It doesn’t matter which strategy you do. Right now you just need to run more. Do whichever one feels more comfortable and will make you want to continue running. The “best” way is the worst one if you don’t like what you do

    Liked by 1 person

  4. FIRST OF ALL – CONGRATS! You hit a huge milestone here and you are so casual about it – like oh I wanted 30 so I did 30. DUDE. YAS! I think you are capable of the full hour but I know that sometimes it’s nice to ease into it, mostly because running is just super mental. Physically you are capable of it but mentally it might be easier to break yourself into that full hour with shorter rest intervals. I would try cutting the rest to 2 minutes next time you run and see how you feel. YOU ROCK!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you!! I really wasn’t trying to be nonchalant about only taking one break. Hope it didn’t come off that way. I was kind of amazed with myself at the end of the run. But, I didn’t have to push myself to do it. It just happened. I have this feeling that if it were Fall temperatures I’d be running better – and I mean longer and faster. I am really leaning towards cutting the walking break to 2 minutes from 3 minutes. I just need the weather to cooperate.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

