The Downside (and Upside) to Quitting Mid-run

When we got back from our holiday my hubby and I both decided to hunker down and return to being dedicated about running. No more excuses. We will run 3 times a week hell or high water. Does that sound convincing?

On Sunday night we checked the weather forecast for Monday, our first run day post-holiday, but were met with an unfortunate weather forecast that showed a 90% chance of rain all evening, which is when we have time to run. So, with our renewed dedication to run consistently we decided to wake up Monday morning and run then instead (See how dedicated we’re being). We haven’t run in the mornings since the beginning of Summer when we were running 6 intervals of 6 minutes I think or something like that. It’s a far cry from running a full hour non-stop.

The seaside path we take, but now in daylight.
The seaside path we take, but now in daylight. It’s a nice change from the park’s electric lights at night.

We had a pre-running snack, I had a coffee and we went out. It was surprisingly humid during the run, but thankfully it was not sunny. In fact, dark clouds hovered above us the entire time and there were a few random sprinkles every now and then. We ran exactly the same course we always run at night, but in the daylight it felt surprisingly strange. It was like running a new path.

However, we only made it 6km in 42 minutes. Both our bodies sort of just gave out. We were lacking energy, and by energy I mean food. We weren’t running on empty tummies, but we hadn’t eaten enough. It was terribly disappoint. We both felt defeated.

We sat down on a bench on the seaside and decided that if we continue to try to run in the mornings we’ll have to do things a little differently. What that is I have no idea. There must be an art to the morning run that I’m unaware of. I think we were also hindered by the fact that we haven’t been running so regularly this month. Our bodies aren’t used to it.

But, the bad news doesn’t stop there. Do you know what one of the disadvantages of quitting mid-run is when you run outside? You don’t make it to your planned end point, which means you have to drag your sorry, exhausted body there walking. We had 2.5 km to go on our run when we stopped so after a break on the bench we hauled our tired soles through the park on the very long walk home (because it is 2.5 km to the entrance of the park and another 1 km back home). Remind me to try to do my best to power through next time I feel like quitting mid-run.

So, on the way back we cut through the center of the park where we never go since it’s windier right on the seaside and more wind is always a plus in hot summer temperatures. What we found was a running/walking loop that was not made of cement and was a little bouncy to the step. Unfortunately, there are no distance markers, but it looks like it is about 1 km around. It gave me the idea that this might be really advantageous in winter when a windy seaside is not so much fun to run on when it’s cold. Since the loop is set back from the seaside and protected by some trees it could really be an alternative to a cold and gusty path.

The other benefit to walking through the park is that instead of running past the park cats that live on the seaside we got the chance to play with them. They are so cute and it’s fun spotting them on a run and laughing at them playing on the rocks.

A park kitten enjoying the view.
A park kitten enjoying the view.

In the end, perhaps quitting mid-run wasn’t all bad news. I will definitely try to keep going next time I want to quit and attempt to encourage my hubby to do the same. But, if we hadn’t prematurely stopped we never would have found the running loop that might just come in handy in the next couple of months.

What do you eat before a morning run? And how long after eating do you start your run?

9 thoughts on “The Downside (and Upside) to Quitting Mid-run

  1. It really depends on the run for me. If it’s just a short easy run (which for me is about 3 miles), I can do it on just a banana and some nut butter. A lot of people do it on nothing, but I like something!

    If it’s an actual meal, I like to have at the very least 1 1/2 hrs to digest it before running. And yes, sometimes that means getting up at too dark o’clock.

    You have to experiment and see what works for you.

    Concrete is definitely the hardest surface to run on, so if you can find something else, your body will thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I eat either hard boiled eggs or cashew butter (any nut butter will work) and banana
    Also with either breakfast coffee
    I eat an hour before I run which often means verrrry early wake ups but it really helps. Water, nuun and sometimes gu(if I’m running long) I take on my runs.
    It takes time getting used to morning runs especially if you’re coming off a running break. I’m not surprised you guys hit a wall. 42 mins is great actually after a break! You’ll be back within a few runs no problem if 42 was your first run back! GREAT JOB!
    Keep sticking with mornings. They are a GREAT running time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t eat anything… Not even a sip of water. But it is best for me to have had a solid (early) dinner the night before. I’ve also noticed that I’m just not quite as fast when I run in the morning. But that’s OK b/c the morning run has changed my entire mindset for the while rest of the day.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ok first of all you deserve a huge big well done for getting out there and giving it a try! A bit of running is better than no running! I think running in the morning. well like anything, is working out what works for you. If it is a short run (that means 45 mins for me) I don’t eat anything. I’ll just have a sip of water. Unless I am not going immediately after getting up. If there’s a bit of a gap I will try and have a banana about 20-30 minutes before heading out. For a longer run (my training plan is currently at 15 miles for the long one) or for things like races where I will be up for quite a while before running I have porridge about 90 minutes to 2 hours before setting off on the run (not an exact science though!) and then a banana about 15-20 mins before running. So for a one hour morning run setting off immediately I would probably have a banana as soon as I get up, then get myself dressed and organised and then head out. How well you feel might also depend on what you had to eat the evening before. That seems to make more difference to how good or otherwise I feel than whether I have breakfast or not… You’re doing great, just keep figuring out what works best for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

