Running Is Still Challenging

Last week we finally sorted ourselves out from my being sick and my husband’s broken toe and got back to running.  We wrapped my hubby’s healing toe in a cocoon of cotton and duct tape – I don’t know the proper way to wrap a toe, but this seemed to do the job – and I had pretty much gotten over my cold.  As it was looking a little rainy we grabbed our running jackets for such weather, and headed out the door.

It was chilly and windy, but only drizzling. We had bought our jackets a few weeks before, but hadn’t had the chance to use them yet for running thanks to the hiatus we took.  So of course we were excited to test them out.

However, we had a bit of bad timing. As soon as we got to the park the wind picked up and the rain started beating down on us. Good thing we had the jackets, right?

image

For our first run back I wasn’t exactly excited about it because I have been suffering from some sort of intestinal bug, the symptoms of which are traumatizing and urgent when they hit, to say the least.  I had been having intermittent stomach cramping as well, but with my hubby’s toe finally back to semi-normal I just wanted to get back to running.  As it had been a while since we ran there has been a running shaped hole in my heart.  I truly missed it.  Plus, after the most humid summer imaginable running in the rain sounded pretty good to me.

image

We opted to take it easy this first run and decided to do 3 intervals of 20 minutes with a 3 – minute walking break in between.  It was so much fun running in the rain for the first interval. It reminded me of putting on rain boots and taking an umbrella to go jump around in puddles as a kid.

image
photo courtesy of pixabay

By the end of the second interval I wasn’t feeling so great.  My stomach had cramped part of the way through and stayed uncomfortably tight the rest of the time.

Running seems to give a lot of people issues with their intestines.  For some the urge “to go” hits, some get stomach cramps post – run,  and others find that they are rocket propelled with all the gas they are passing.  Before we had set out on this run I had mentally prepared myself for the possibility that I may have to run off course to find a bathroom or, horror of horrors, find a bush or something to squat behind. Luckily it didn’t come down to something so drastic.

image
photo courtesy of pixabay

Constant unpleasant trips to the bathroom for almost a week left me perhaps more dehydrated and weaker than I realized. The rain stopped and the sun came out, bringing with it some humidity. With the sun came a pretty sharp headache. It was agonizing. We started the third interval, but 4 or 5 minutes in I just couldn’t go on. I felt defeated, but I was dragging myself through the run.

We tried again two days later on Wednesday. Again, we decided to take it easy and just go for 3 intervals of 20 minutes with a 3 – minute walking break in between. This time I was feeling more like myself. I didn’t have a lot of energy,  but I finished the run. On Friday it was a much better run and I actually felt good afterwards. After both Wednesday and Friday’s runs my husband expressed, much to my chagrin, the fact that he could “keep on running” after we finished our 60 minutes.

While I was happy for him that his toe was feeling good and the weeks off running didn’t seem to be holding him back, I can’t say I felt the same. I was just happy finishing the runs. It was not our plan to take a break from running. However, I don’t think we could have avoided it. But, because it was a struggle last week, I couldn’t help but get a little mad at myself for letting it be so long between runs. I think I am just annoyed it became a struggle once again to run an hour. Regardless, both of us are glad to be running again and this week has been going much better than last.

9 thoughts on “Running Is Still Challenging

  1. I’ve had a break from running but decided I miss it and went for a short 5km on Saturday, it was like I’d never run before, so tough!! Hopefully you get back into the swing of things 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the stomach stuff passes with time (excuse the bad pun). I used to get into all sorts of trouble – I think it is both experience and diet related, over time my system got used to the churning motion of running and I made subtle changes to my eating habits – so subtle I can’t quite pinpoint what I changed and when – that seems to have reduced that particular running problem.

    Like

  3. Running is one of the most challenging things I have ever done – always. Regardless of how long, far, fast, etc you run, there are going to be off days. Off weeks. Off months…even years! Keep going and hang in there – the way you are feeling WILL pass. I am going through a tough time myself right now with a calf injury and I have been quite down myself. But I know the end result is rewarding…those days where the run feels effortless, or the days where you finish a race…or run a PR. Hang in there, sister!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

